Posted by: Beth | 2011/09/09

Week 2-2 Artist Date – The Alphabet

Our first assignment in my photography class fit perfectly with my need to find a creative artist date.  So…  our assignment was to find the alphabet letters naturally occurring out in the world without actually using the letters on signs, billboards and such.  That sounded easy enough.  Part of my goal was to try not to use trees because trees naturally make a lot of the letters and made it too easy for certain letters (like Y).  Basically by using the camera to “see” certain situations we also learned to “see” more without the camera at the same time.  It was harder than I expected it to be and I learned a lot about looking beyond the surface.  It took me more time and driving around than I expected but it was interesting at the same time exploring our city looking for the “hidden” letters.  Only two of my letters were duplicated by other people in the class.  My L and my O.  Otherwise, I think my letters were unique when our assignments were reviewed last week.  I took pieces of other things and made them objects of art within their own right.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

