Posted by: Beth | 2010/02/09

the Complete Artist’s Way

A week or so ago I bought myself a present.  Julia Cameron’s book “the Complete Artist Way“.  I could’ve saved myself $10 by ordering it through Amazon instead of being so impatient that I had to get it at Barnes & Noble.  But I wanted it and I splurged.  It is a Trilogy of her three books which include, The Artist’s Way, Walking in This World, and Finding Water.  I finally broke the plastic off of the book tonight.  I wanted to skip right to Week One and get started but I made myself read the Main Introduction to the Trilogy.   Immediately her words began to speak to me on a core level.  She says,

“Creativity is the natural order of life, nothing we need to invent.  Put simply, creativity is God’s gift to us.  Our use of it is our gift back to God.  We are intended to be creative.” 

I must admit I barely skimmed the Gratitude List and skipped right over the Table of Contents that I would normally puruse at leisure before starting a book of this nature.   Fighting the impulse to skip ahead I did read the second Introduction.  This one to The Artist’s Way itself.  I am excited to begin this journey!  I do not know how personal of a journey it is going to turn out to be.  I do not know how comfortable I will feel blogging about the things she asks me to do or learn.  But the things that I do feel comfortable sharing I will share as I go along.  I hope that in a few weeks I will be able to see some growth in myself!


Responses

  1. YEA, Beth, you broke the plastic. I am so excited for you as you take another path on your journey of discovery. The look of your blog is perfect.

    Now I will wait patiently for more.

    • Thank you! You have truly been instrumental in me moving forward. I had never heard of this book before you and Randy started discussing it!


Leave a comment

Categories